January 2016





IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation

CEDA's Ernest S. Kuh Early Career Award

The IEEE CEDA Ernest S. Kuh Early Career Award honors an individual who has made innovative, substantial technical contributions to the area of electronic design automation in the early stages of his or her career.

This award has been renamed from the IEEE CEDA Early Career Award in honor of the late Ernest S. Kuh, who made pioneering contributions in circuit theory, EDA, and engineering education.

The first Ernest S. Kuh Early Career Award was presented to Zhiru Zhang (professor at Cornell University) at the 2015 International Conference on Computer-Aided Design (ICCAD) for outstanding contributions to algorithms, methodologies, and successful commercialization of high-level synthesis tools for FPGAs.

The deadline for submitting nominations for the 2016 award is 15 April 2016. Please refer to CEDA's award page at <u>http://ieee-ceda.org/awards</u> for details.

Nominations Requested for the A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award in EDA

CEDA and ACM SIGDA are calling for nominations for the 8th Annual A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award in Electronic Design Automation. This award honors a person or group of persons for an outstanding technical contribution within the scope of EDA, as evidenced by a paper published at least 10 years before the presentation of the award at the 2016 Design Automation Conference. The award is based on the impact of the paper's contribution.

The paper must have passed through a peer-review process before publication, be in an archived conference or journal publication available from or published by either IEEE or ACM, and be a seminal paper where an original idea was first described. Follow-up papers and extended descriptions of the work may be cited in the nomination, but the award is given for the initial original contribution. The closing date for nominations is 1 February 2016.

For more details, please refer to CEDA's award page at <u>http://ieee-ceda.org/awards</u>.

CEDA Announces 2016 EICs

CEDA has led nomination and selection processes for the 2016 editors in chief of the following periodicals:

- IEEE Embedded Systems Letters (ESL)
- IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems (TCAD)
- IEEE Design & Test (D&T) (which is cosponsored by the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society, the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society, and CEDA)

We offer these EICs and their teams our best wishes and encouragement for the continued successful operation of ESL, TCAD, and $D \notin T$ in 2016 and beyond.

IEEE Embedded Systems Letters

The 2016 EIC and Deputy EIC of ESL are as follows:

- *Editor in Chief:* Sri Parameswaran (University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia)
- *Deputy Editor in Chief:* Tulika Mitra (National University of Singapore, Singapore)

IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated

Circuits and Systems

The 2016 EIC and Associate EIC of TCAD are as follows:

- *Editor in Chief:* Vijaykrishnan Narayanan (Penn State University, University Park, Pennsylvania)
- Associate Editor in Chief: Charles Alpert (Cadence Design Systems, San Jose, California)

IEEE Design & Test

The 2016 Editor in Chief of D c CT is Jörg Henkel (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany).

CEDA Currents is a publication of IEEE CEDA. Please send contributions to Jose L. Ayala (<u>layala@fdi.ucm.es</u>). © 2016 IEEE. All rights reserved.

A Special Note of Gratitude

CEDA would like to express our cordial thanks to the outgoing EIC of *ESL*, Krithi Ramamritham (Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India), and Deputy EIC of *ESL*, Catherine Gebotys (University of Waterloo, Canada), both of whom have served since July 2011.

We also cordially thank the outgoing EIC of D c T, André Ivanov (University of British Columbia, Canada), who has served since January 2013.

In addition, we'd like to express our gratitude to all the ESL, TCAD, and D c T chief, associate, and guest editors and reviewers.

Finally, we thank the nominators for their proposals, and the members of the selection committees for their careful deliberations.

New IEEE Fellows from CEDA

CEDA is pleased to announce that the following members are being elevated to IEEE Fellow in 2016:

- David Atienza Alonso (EPFL Switzerland), for con-tributions to design methods and tools for multiprocessor SoCs;
- Xiaobo Sharon Hu (University of Notre Dame), for contributions to resource management for embedded systems;
- Jiang Hu (Texas A&M University), for contributions to gate, interconnect, and clock network optimization in VLSI circuits; and
- Peng Li (Texas A&M University), for contributions to the analysis and modeling of integrated circuits and systems.

Papers in IEEE Embedded Systems Letters

The top-five accessed articles from *IEEE Embedded Systems* Letters in October 2015 were as follows:

- "Security-Aware Modeling and Efficient Mapping for CAN-Based Real-Time Distributed Automotive Systems," by C.-W. Lin, Q. Zhu, and A. Sangiovanni-Vincentelli
- "<u>A Formal Verification Methodology for</u> <u>FPGA-Based Stepper Motor Control</u>," by S. Jabeen et al.
- "<u>FPGA-Based Protection Scheme against Hard-</u> ware Trojan Horse Insertion Using Dummy Logic," by B. Khaleghi et al.
- "<u>Cooperative On-Chip Temperature Estimation</u> <u>Using Multiple Virtual Sensors</u>," by J. Yong Shin, F. Kurdahi, and N. Dutt
- "<u>Motion Noise Cancelation in Heartbeat Sensing Using Accelerometer and Adaptive Filter</u>," by S. Ardalan, S. Moghadami, and S. Jaafari

Upcoming Conferences (Yao-Wen Chang, ywchang@ntu.tw)	
ASP-DAC	Macao, China, 25-28 January 2016
DATE	Dresden, Germany, 14-18 March 2016
<u>GLSVLSI</u>	Boston, Massachusetts, 18-20 May 2016
DAC	Austin, Texas, 5-9 June 2016

Find us online at *ieee-ceda.org*.



IEEE Embedded Systems Letters is open for submissions. Visit mc.manuscriptcentral.com/les-ieee.

IEEE Design & Test is open for submissions. Visit mc.manuscriptcentral.com/dandt and ieee-ceda.org/publications/d-t/paper-submission.

IEEE COUNCIL ON ELECTRONIC DESIGN AUTOMATION

President: SHISHPAL RAWAT President-Elect: DAVID ATIENZA Secretary: ELI BOZORGZADEH VP Finance: GI-JOON NAM VP Activities: PENG LI VP Conferences: YAO-WEN CHANG VP Publications: HELMUT GRAEB VP Publicity: JOSÉ AYALA Immediate Past-President: SANI NASSIF Awards Chair: HIDETOSHI ONODERA

CEDA Currents is a publication of IEEE CEDA. Please send contributions to Jose L. Ayala (jayala@fdi.ucm.es). © 2016 IEEE. All rights reserved.